Algorithms and First loves

After much deliberation as to how to untangle the webs of development, see what I did there? I arrived at a simple solution: "Don't ditch your first love so fast" (unless of course he's toxic).

My first attraction to tech, asides all that stardust, was problem solving. What makes software development, back-end programming so cool are... problems, which is perhaps the fancy for cyber security. So what better way to connect to the initial dream than through Algorithms and Data structures. I have previously studied javaScript, however I'm also quiet interested in exploring the capabilities of Java, and so I narrowed down the tracks into:

  1. Get the basics of Java right and practice this new knowledge alongside algorithms and data structures by working on projects related to the latter using the former.

  2. Go back to freecodecamp, complete the module on JavaScript Algorithms and Data Structures and work through the projects (get a cert too!!).

Well, the first love won! yes, obviously, from the not so subtle intro. The first love in this case is freecodecamp... or JavaScript? I'd say both. My goal is to learn by doing using the JavaScript Algorithms and Data Structures resource available at freecodecamp.org and apply the knowledge to associated projects.

Oh and for some trivia: Cyber Security also requires the study of one or more programming languages.

So what do you think? Are my employ-able chances increasing? Would you choose to focus on JavaScript over Java? and What projects would you suggest to learn/master algorithms and data Structures? Oh and what would you say is your first love? In terms of languages and learning resource.